EMERGENCY RESOLUTION NO. 2014-056 CANVASSING VOTE FOR THE ANNUAL MUNICIPAL ELECTION HELD JUNE 3, 2014

WHEREAS there was held in the City of Rapid City, South Dakota, on Tuesday, the 3rd day of June, 2014, the Annual Municipal Election of the City of Rapid City, South Dakota, for the purpose of electing five Alderpersons of said City; and

WHEREAS at said election the total number of votes cast for the office of Alderman were as follows:

FOR THE OFFICE OF ALDERMAN	N = 1s	t	2nd	3re	d 4	4th	
FIRST WARD (TWO-YEAR TERM	(I) Pr	ecinct	Precino	t Pr	ecinct	Precinct	Total
Vince Vidal	10	07	154	27	' 6	62	599
Ron Weifenbach	20	00	334	51	3	140	1187
FOR THE OFFICE OF ALDERMAN	1st	2nd	3rc	ļ	4th	5th	
SECOND WARD (TWO-YEAR TERM) Precinc	t Preci	nct Pr	ecinct	Precino	t Precinct	Total
Steve Laurenti	12	3	14	-2	252	14	423
Tim R. Rose	8	2	ϵ	0	129	12	211
Richard Towne	2	1	4	.1	135	9	188
FOR THE OFFICE OF ALDERMAN	1st	2nd	3r	d	4th	5th	
FOURTH WARD (TWO-YEAR TERM) Precinc	t Preci	nct Pro	ecinct	Precino	t Precinct	Total
Amanda Scott	57	176	15	7	139	107	636
Rick E. Askvig	74	186	11	5	128	89	592
FOR THE OFFICE OF ALDERMAN	1st	2nd	3r	d	4th	5th	
FIFTH WARD (TWO-YEAR TERM)	Precinct	Precinct	Preci	nct P	recinct	Precinct	Total
Ron Sasso	58	264	40	7	249	72	1050
Darla Drew	63	288	42	.3	333	51	1158

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED by the City of Rapid City, as follows:

- 1. Ron Weifenbach, having received a majority of all votes cast for the office of Alderman for the First Ward, for a term of two years, is hereby declared to be duly elected to the office of Alderman of the City of Rapid City for the First Ward and for the term as hereinabove set forth, and is entitled to qualify for and hold said office as provided by law.
- 2. Steve Laurenti, having received a majority of all votes cast for the office of Alderman for the Second Ward, for a term of two years, is hereby declared to be duly elected to the office of Alderman of the City of Rapid City for the Second Ward and for the term as hereinabove set forth, and is entitled to qualify for and hold said office as provided by law.
- 3. Chad Lewis, having been unopposed as candidate for the office of Alderman for the Third Ward, for a term of two years, is hereby declared to be duly elected to the office of Alderman of the City of Rapid City for the Third Ward, and for the term as hereinabove set forth, and is entitled to qualify for and hold said office as provided by law.
- 4. Amanda Scott, having received a majority of all votes cast for the office of Alderman for the Fourth Ward, for a term of two years, is hereby declared to be duly elected to the office of Alderman of the City of Rapid City for the Fourth Ward and for the term as hereinabove set forth, and is entitled to qualify for and hold said office as provided by law.
- 5. Darla Drew, having received a majority of all votes cast for the office of Alderman for the Fifth Ward, for a term of two years, is hereby declared to be duly elected to the office of Alderman of the City of Rapid City for the Fifth Ward and for the term as hereinabove set forth, and is entitled to qualify for and hold said office as provided by law.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that this resolution is found and determined to be necessary for the immediate preservation of the public peace, health, and safety, and for the support of the municipal government and its existing public institutions, wherefore an emergency exists and this resolution shall take effect immediately upon its passage and publication according to law.

DATED this 6th day of June, 2014.

	CITY OF RAPID CITY				
ATTEST:	Mayor				
Finance Officer					
(SEAL)					
WARD ONE ALDERMAN	WARD ONE ALDERMAN				
William Clayton	Charity Doyle				
WARD TWO ALDERMAN	WARD TWO ALDERMAN				
Steve Laurenti	Ritchie Nordstrom				
WARD THREE ALDERMAN	WARD THREE ALDERMAN				
Chad Lewis	Jerry Wright				
WARD FOUR ALDERMAN	WARD FOUR ALDERMAN				
Amanda Scott	John B. Roberts				
WARD FIVE ALDERMAN	WARD FIVE ALDERMAN				
Bonny Petersen	Brad Estes				