EMERGENCY RESOLUTION NO. 2012-071 CANVASSING VOTE FOR THE ANNUAL MUNICIPAL ELECTION HELD JUNE 5, 2012

WHEREAS there was held in the City of Rapid City, South Dakota, on Tuesday, the 5th day of June, 2012, the Annual Municipal Election of the City of Rapid City, South Dakota, for the purpose of electing five Alderpersons of said City; and

WHEREAS at said election the total number of votes cast for the office of Alderman were as follows:

FOR THE OFFICE OF ALDERMAN THIRD WARD (TWO-YEAR TERM) Chad Lewis Dan A. Michael			3rd Precinc 648 101	4th 119 378	cinct Tota 595 93	1506	
FOR THE OFFICE OF ALDERMAN	1st	2nd	31	rd	4th	5th	
FOURTH WARD (TWO-YEAR TER	M) Preci	nct Prec	inct Pi	recinct	Precinc	t Precinct	Total
Joshua D. Snyder	21	Ç	1	58	81	8	259
Amanda Scott	46	1	18	125	111	45	445
Theresa Spry	63	1	24	89	74	10	360
FOR THE OFFICE OF ALDERMAN FIFTH WARD (TWO-YEAR TERM) Bonny Petersen Cody Raterman	1st Precinct 108 43	2nd Precinc 286 239	t Preci			<u>Γotal</u> 1291 668	

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED by the City of Rapid City, as follows:

- 1. Bill Clayton, having been unopposed as candidate for the office of Alderman for the First Ward, for a term of two years, is hereby declared to be duly elected to the office of Alderman of the City of Rapid City for the First Ward, and for the term as hereinabove set forth, and is entitled to qualify for and hold said office as provided by law.
- 2. Steve Laurenti, having been unopposed as candidate for the office of Alderman for the Second Ward, for a term of two years, is hereby declared to be duly elected to the office of Alderman of the City of Rapid City for the Second Ward, and for the term as hereinabove set forth, and is entitled to qualify for and hold said office as provided by law.
- 3. Chad Lewis, having received a majority of all votes cast for the office of Alderman for the Third Ward, for a term of two years, is hereby declared to be duly elected to the office of Alderman of the City of Rapid City for the Third Ward and for the term as hereinabove set forth, and is entitled to qualify for and hold said office as provided by law.
- 4. Amanda Scott and Theresa Spry, candidates for Alderman, Ward Four, being the two candidates who received the highest number of votes cast for said office but who failed to receive a majority of all votes cast therefore, are hereby declared to be candidates for said office at a secondary election to be held on Tuesday, June 26, 2010, such secondary election to be held at the same polling places, with the same judges and clerks, and shall be conducted, returned, and canvassed and the result declared and entered on the journal of the City in the same manner as the first election.

S:\ELECTION\Canvass\CANVAS37.doc

5. Bonny Petersen, having received a majority of all votes cast for the office of Alderman for the Fifth Ward, for a term of two years, is hereby declared to be duly elected to the office of Alderman of the City of Rapid City for the Fifth Ward and for the term as hereinabove set forth, and is entitled to qualify for and hold said office as provided by law.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that this resolution is found and determined to be necessary for the immediate preservation of the public peace, health, and safety, and for the support of the municipal government and its existing public institutions, wherefore an emergency exists and this resolution shall take effect immediately upon its passage and publication according to law.

DATED this 12th day of June, 2012.

Mayor
WARD ONE ALDERMAN
Charity Doyle
WARD TWO ALDERMAN
Ritchie Nordstrom
WARD THREE ALDERMAN
Jerry Wright

WARD FOUR ALDERMAN	WARD FOUR ALDERMAN				
Jordan Mason	John B. Roberts				
WARD FIVE ALDERMAN	WARD FIVE ALDERMAN				
Bonny Petersen	Ron Sasso				