

CITY OF RAPID CITY

RAPID CITY, SOUTH DAKOTA 57701-2724

PLANNING DEPARTMENT

300 Sixth Street

Marcia Elkins
Planning Director

city web: www.ci.rapid-city.sd.us

Phone: 605-394-4120

Fax: 605-394-6636 e-mail: marcia.elkins@ci.rapid-city.sd.us

MEMORANDUM

TO: Rapid City Council

FROM: Marcia Elkins, Planning Director

DATE: December 20, 2000

RE: Web site Redevelopment Proposal

Recommendation: The E-Government Subcommittee recommends that the City Council authorize the Mayor and Finance Officer to sign a letter of agreement for Web Site Structure, Design and Newsletter development with DAKSOFT, Inc. in an amount not to exceed \$5950.

Attached please find a copy of a cover letter and proposal from DAKSOFT, Inc. to provide web site structure, design and newsletter development services, including staff training to the City of Rapid City. As noted when the City Council reviewed the Strategic Plan for e-government services, the next step in implementing improved e-government services was the redesign of the web site. The Strategic Plan identified the need to redesign the various existing City web sites to make the sites more user friendly, provide greater continuity among the various City department and agency web sites and encourage greater use and participation by the public. Authorization for the Mayor and Finance Officer to sign a letter of agreement will allow the City to take the next step in upgrading and improving our e-government services.

Funding for the project will be come from the 2000 Planning Department budget (\$5000) and the Library budget (\$950.) To access these funds, the City Council must approve the agreement before the end of the year. I apologize that this item did not appear on a committee agenda in accordance with the normal procedures. Originally, the E-Government Subcommittee had proposed to bring this to the December 13, 2000 Committee meeting; however, the consultants required additional time to prepare the proposals.

If you have any questions, please feel free to contact any of the members of the E-Government Subcommittee: Jim Preston, Gary Shepherd, Greta Chapman or Marcia Elkins. We appreciate your assistance in moving this project forward.

