Pennington County





Promulgation Statement

Promulgation of the Pennington County Pre-Disaster Mitigation Plan

The primary role of the government is to provide for the welfare of its citizens. In the management of emergencies, the goal is to provide for mitigation, preparedness, response and recovery actions that ensure public welfare is restored and preserved.

The Pennington County Pre-hazard Mitigation Plan is an integral preventive element of emergency management. The Plan provides a comprehensive framework for disaster mitigation. It identifies the risks and vulnerabilities of the counties to multiple hazards and establishes goals and strategies to address these factors.

All jurisdictions cooperated with the Pennington County Emergency Management Office in the planning process, which provides an effective framework for the implementation of the identified strategies. County and city departments, along with local government have demonstrated repeatedly, that they can work together to reduce the effects of a disaster.

The Pennington County Pre-hazard Mitigation Plan ensures consistency with current policy guidance and describes the interrelationship with other levels of government. The plan will continue to evolve, reflecting lessons learned from actual experiences and ongoing planning. The Plan will be continually reviewed, maintained, and updated to reflect the changes in Federal and State statutes and ongoing mitigation opportunities.

Pennington County is confident that it will serve as a basis for improving coordination and strengthening relationships amongst all partners on the federal, state, local, and private levels.

Therefore, by the authority of the Pennington County Commission, we do hereby order that the Pennington County Pre-disaster Mitigation Plan be put into effect and be promulgated to all appropriate entities in the county, as updated.

Date Signed:			
Date Signed.			

Created: 03-15-13

These cities, hereby adopt the activities and conditions set forth by the Pennington County Pre-hazard Mitigation Plan.

List of Participating Cities:

- · City of Box Elder
- City of Hill City
- Town of Keystone
- City of New Underwood
- City of Rapid City
- City of Wall

Signatures:

Lyndell Petersen Chairman, Pennington County Commission William F. Griffiths, Sr. Mayor, City of Box Elder

Dave Gray

Mayor, City of Hill City

A. Gideon Oakes

President, Keystone Board of Trustees

Jack Trullinger

Mayor, City of New Underwood

Sam Kooiker

Mayor, City of Rapid City

Dave Hahn Mayor, City of Wall

Dave Hahn

Mayor, City of Wall

Created: 03-15-13